Your backstage pass to the world’s most prolific authors

What does it take to succeed as a writer? Hosts J.D. Barker, Christine Daigle, Patrick O’Donnell, JP Rindfleisch, Kevin Tumlinson, J. Thorn, and Zach Bohannon pull back the curtain and gain rare insight from the household names found on bookshelves worldwide.

Want to ask your favorite author a question? Click here!

Dan Padavona knows the secrets to reimagining failure. Whether a book isn’t reaching the right audience or receiving negative criticism, he stresses the importance of remaining confident, persistent, and willing to pivot in the face of “the crickets” . Dan is the accomplished author of over twenty novels, including the Wolf Lake series and Thomas Shepherd series. He also co-wrote Shadow Witch with J. eight years ago. To preorder his upcoming novel, The Killer Inside, follow the link below.

From Amazon.com:

When you read one of my books I hope you feel like you are sitting around a campfire with me at midnight. If you happen upon me, you’ll probably find me reading Stephen King, Rachel Caine, Dean Koontz, or one of the many authors who have so enriched my life with their ability to tell a good tale. More than anything, I love a good story. Let me tell you one. Sign up for my VIP Readers Group at www.danpadavona.com and download a free screen background.

In this episode, you’ll discover:

  • How to find the overlap between self-fulfilling and marketable writing
  • When to walk away from your day job
  • Why writing can be so unmotivating
  • How individuality can hurt your prospects

Links:

J. D. Barker – http://jdbarker.com/

J. Thorn – https://theauthorlife.com/

Zach Bohannon – https://zachbohannon.com/

Christine Daigle – https://www.christinedaiglebooks.com/

Dan Padavona – https://www.danpadavona.com/

The Killer Inside https://books2read.com/u/mqXRne

Three Story Method: Writing Scenes – https://books2read.com/threestorymethodws 

Best of BookTook – https://bestofbooktok.com/ 

Story Rubric – http://storyrubric.com  

Nonfic Rubric – http://nonficrubric.com  

Scene Rubric – http://scenerubric.com 

Proudly sponsored by Kobo Writing Life – https://kobowritinglife.com/ and Atticus – https://www.atticus.io/ and Ghostwriting University – https://www.ghostwritinguniversity.com/ 

Music by Nicorus – https://cctrax.com/nicorus/dust-to-dust-ep 

Voice Over by Rick Ganley – http://www.nhpr.com and recorded at Mill Pond Studio – http://www.millpondstudio.com

Audio production by Geoff Emberlyn – http://www.emberletter.com/ 

Website Design by Word & Pixel – http://wordandpixel.com/

Contact – https://writersinkpodcast.com/contact/ 

*Full disclosure: Some of the links are affiliate links.