Your backstage pass to the world’s most prolific authors

What does it take to succeed as a writer? Hosts J.D. Barker, Christine Daigle, Patrick O’Donnell, JP Rindfleisch, Kevin Tumlinson, J. Thorn, and Zach Bohannon pull back the curtain and gain rare insight from the household names found on bookshelves worldwide.

Want to ask your favorite author a question? Click here!

Award-winning novelist Jake Bible loves to drabble in his spare time. A short story of exactly 100 words, the exercise has helped him sharpen his editing skills, heighten his creativity, and expand his support network. Jake wrote his first novel, DEAD MECH, in 2008, and has since written over 65 books and been nominated for various awards, including the Bram Stoker Award. To order his latest novel, Out of the Stars, follow the link below.

From Amazon.com:

A Bram Stoker Award nominated-novelist, short story writer, independent screenwriter, podcaster, and inventor of the Drabble Novel, Jake is the author of over sixty-five published novels including the bestselling Z-Burbia zombie apocalypse series, the bestselling Salvage Merc One military scifi series, the bestselling Roak: Galactic Bounty Hunter space crime series, the fan favorite hit Team Grendel/Mega thriller series, and his original post-apocalyptic mech/zombie mash-up, the Apex Trilogy. His other novels include the YA zombie novel, Little Dead Man, the Bram Stoker Award nominated YA horror novel, Intentional Haunting, the middle grade scifi/horror series, ScareScapes, and the historical fiction/space opera mash-up series, Reign of Four, for Permuted Press, as well as Stone Cold Bastards and the Black Box Inc. series for Bell Bridge Books.

In this episode, you’ll discover:

  • The importance of writing mechanics
  • How to write a short story every week
  • How to find success on Substack as a fiction writer
  • The importance of a core fanbase

Links:

J. D. Barker – http://jdbarker.com/

J. Thorn – https://theauthorlife.com/

Zach Bohannon – https://zachbohannon.com/

Christine Daigle – https://www.christinedaiglebooks.com/

Jake Bible – https://jakebible.com/

Out of the Stars https://books2read.com/OutofStars

Three Story Method: Writing Scenes – https://books2read.com/threestorymethodws 

Best of BookTook – https://bestofbooktok.com/ 

Story Rubric – http://storyrubric.com  

Nonfic Rubric – http://nonficrubric.com  

Scene Rubric – http://scenerubric.com 

Proudly sponsored by Kobo Writing Life – https://kobowritinglife.com/ and Atticus – https://www.atticus.io/ and Ghostwriting University – https://www.ghostwritinguniversity.com/ 

Music by Nicorus – https://cctrax.com/nicorus/dust-to-dust-ep 

Voice Over by Rick Ganley – http://www.nhpr.com and recorded at Mill Pond Studio – http://www.millpondstudio.com

Audio production by Geoff Emberlyn – http://www.emberletter.com/ 

Website Design by Word & Pixel – http://wordandpixel.com/

Contact – https://writersinkpodcast.com/contact/ 

*Full disclosure: Some of the links are affiliate links.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *