Your backstage pass to the world’s most prolific authors

What does it take to succeed as a writer? Hosts J.D. Barker, Christine Daigle, Patrick O’Donnell, JP Rindfleisch, Kevin Tumlinson, J. Thorn, and Zach Bohannon pull back the curtain and gain rare insight from the household names found on bookshelves worldwide.

Want to ask your favorite author a question? Click here!

Guest Paul Tremblay returns to the podcast to discuss pacing, getting tired, and the challenge of two unreliable narrators with his latest book, THE PALLBEARER’S CLUB. Paul constantly challenges himself to create interesting stories that don’t just rely on a gimmick. Tremblay often transcends genre with masterful storytelling and compelling characters. He’s on sabbatical from his teaching position and trying to keep his writing time organized and consistent.

From Amazon.com:

Paul Tremblay is the author of the Bram Stoker Award and Locus Award winning THE CABIN AT THE END OF THE WORLD, winner of the British Fantasy Award DISAPPEARANCE AT DEVIL’S ROCK, and Bram Stoker Award/Massachusetts Book Award winning A HEAD FULL OF GHOSTS. A HEAD FULL OF GHOSTS is in development with Focus Features. He’s also the author of the novels The Little Sleep, No Sleep till Wonderland, Swallowing a Donkey’s Eye, and Floating Boy and the Girl Who Couldn’t Fly (co-written with Stephen Graham Jones).

His newest book is the short story collection GROWING THINGS AND OTHER STORIES.

His essays and short fiction have appeared in the Los Angeles Times and numerous “year’s best” anthologies. He is the co-editor of four anthologies including Creatures: Thirty Years of Monster Stories (with John Langan). Paul is on the board of directors for the Shirley Jackson Awards. He lives outside of Boston, Massachusetts, has a master’s degree in Mathematics, and has no uvula. You can find him online at www.paultremblay.net. twitter: @paulgtremblay

He is represented by Stephen Barbara, InkWell Management.

In this episode, you’ll discover:

  • Why you should schedule your writing time even if you don’t have a day job
  • The challenges of creating unique stories
  • Why pacing in your novel matters

Links:

J. D. Barker – http://jdbarker.com/

J. Thorn – https://theauthorlife.com/

Zach Bohannon – https://zachbohannon.com/

Christine Daigle – https://www.christinedaiglebooks.com/

Paul Tremblay – https://www.paultremblay.net/

The Pallbearer’s Clubhttps://books2read.com/pbclub

Three Story Method: Writing Scenes – https://books2read.com/threestorymethodws 

Best of BookTook – https://bestofbooktok.com/ 

Story Rubric – http://storyrubric.com  

Nonfic Rubric – http://nonficrubric.com  

Scene Rubric – http://scenerubric.com 

Proudly sponsored by Kobo Writing Life – https://kobowritinglife.com/ and Atticus – https://www.atticus.io/ and Ghostwriting University – https://www.ghostwritinguniversity.com/ 

Music by Nicorus – https://cctrax.com/nicorus/dust-to-dust-ep 

Voice Over by Rick Ganley – http://www.nhpr.com and recorded at Mill Pond Studio – http://www.millpondstudio.com

Audio production by Geoff Emberlyn – http://www.emberletter.com/ 

Website Design by Word & Pixel – http://wordandpixel.com/

Contact – https://writersinkpodcast.com/contact/ 

*Full disclosure: Some of the links are affiliate links.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *