fbpx

Writers, Ink Podcast: Episode 144 – Upgrade with NYT Bestseller Blake Crouch

Returning guest Blake Crouch explores the forefront of scientific discovery in his new novel, Upgrade. A gene-editing thriller, Blake pushed himself to go the extra mile for the book, interviewing field experts in biology and physics to keep his sci-fi enticing yet realistic. Blake is a bestselling author well known for works like Dark Matter, Recursion, and Wayward Pines. To preorder Upgrade, follow the link below.

From Amazon.com:

Blake Crouch is a bestselling novelist and screenwriter. His novels include the New York Times bestseller Dark Matter, and the internationally bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, which was adapted into a television series for FOX. Crouch also created the TNT show Good Behavior, based on his Letty Dobesh novellas. His latest book is Recursion, a sci-fi thriller about memory, and will be published in June 2019. He lives in Colorado.

In this episode, you’ll discover:

  • Why Blake’s only tackling big ideas
  • His process for conducting “deep research”
  • How he utilizes human evolution in storytelling
  • His future plans for Dark Matter

Links:

J. D. Barker – http://jdbarker.com/

J. Thorn – https://theauthorlife.com/

Zach Bohannon – https://zachbohannon.com/

2022 Colorado Gold Writers Conference – http://rmfw.org/conference-2022/ 

Blake Crouch – https://blakecrouch.com/

Upgradehttps://mybook.to/Upgrade

Three Story Method: Writing Scenes – https://books2read.com/threestorymethodws 

Best of BookTook – https://bestofbooktok.com/ 

The Carbon Almanac – https://books2read.com/carbonalmanac 

Story Rubric – http://storyrubric.com  

Nonfic Rubric – http://nonficrubric.com  

Scene Rubric – http://scenerubric.com 

Proudly sponsored by Kobo Writing Life – https://kobowritinglife.com/ and Atticus – https://www.atticus.io/

Music by Nicorus – https://cctrax.com/nicorus/dust-to-dust-ep 

Voice Over by Rick Ganley – http://www.nhpr.com and recorded at Mill Pond Studio – http://www.millpondstudio.com

Contact – https://writersinkpodcast.com/contact/ 

*Full disclosure: Some of the links are affiliate links.

4 thoughts on “Writers, Ink Podcast: Episode 144 – Upgrade with NYT Bestseller Blake Crouch”

  1. Interesting interview. I’m a scifi fan always interested in ‘possible futures’ as predicted by writers. I love to live to see predicted things come true, or not, like 1984. I’d watch Dark Matter on screen as long as it has an ending – I’m not a fan of series’ that never end until it becomes economically unviable to continue. Reminds me of travelling in the back of a 4 tonner in Germany with a load of other squaddies. A friend was reading a novel and as he got near the end another squaddie snatched it off him and threw it out of the back onto the autobahn. Unforgivable in my eyes but there was laughter and anger and later a fight. Boys will be boys.
    Great interview.

    1. “travelling in the back of a 4 tonner in Germany with a load of other squaddies”

      I have no idea what was happening there. Ha!

      1. 4 tonner – big army lorry that can carry troops in the back.
        Squaddie – person serving in the lower ranks of the British army – grunts?
        Germany – a country British and US troops have occupied since WW2. Most have left now but there are still a few military bases dotted around.
        Apologies for the military slang 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: